Message from the Chairman

2019 has been a tumultuous year in terms of international developments. The ongoing trade war between China and the U.S., coupled with demonstrations in different regions have resulted in an extended slump in global economy. Unfortunately, Everlight Chemical hasn’t been spared from the repercussions of such volatile times as we were not able to meet our profit target due to less-than-ideal sales performance. Nevertheless, we are ever grateful to the blessings of God that enabled us to remain steadfast in our stride despite such times of uncertainty as we continued to strengthen the company’s core capabilities, thereby establishing a sound basis for our sustainable development.

Everlight Chemical / Chairman

Chairman of Everlight Chemical – James Chen

This report marks our third attempt at adhering to the core option standards of Global Reporting Initiative(GRI Standard) as we continued to commission the British Standards Institute (BSI) to conduct 3rd-party verification in accordance with the AA1000 Assurance Standard (2008) and it’s 2018 Attachment. The scope of this report will still only cover Everlight Chemical’s HQ in Taipei City and the four plants that we operate in Dayuan and Guanyin Districts of Taoyuan City.

In Taiwan, everyone has gradually become accustomed to and learned to appreciate the significance that the abbreviation “ESG” (i.e. Environment, Social and Governance) stands for. I will briefly touch on a few key points that pertain to the three aspects of ESG in order to inform the readers as to the efforts and commitments that Everlight Chemical has put forth with regards to issues of sustainability and international trends.

With regards to the development of sustainable environment
The Company has attained significant results in water conservation, energy conservation and carbon reduction. For water resource management, our total water consumption for 2019 was 12% less compared to that of 2018; our “Return Water/Water Conserved” for 2019 came to 4.17 million liters, translating to 39% in terms of water conservation performance.
With regards to energy management, our energy consumption for 2019 turned out to be 6% less compared to 2018 as we saved a total of 1,486 MW (equivalent to a reduction of carbon emission by approximately 793 tCO2e) of power;the RTO furnace that became operational at our 3rd plant in 2019 is capable of completely trapping and processing all VOCs from our processes. Not only that, we have also continued to develop green chemical solutions. For instance: The Business Unit of Color Chemicals launched the Everzol ERC Solution as an eco-friendly dyeing and finishing solution for customers in 2019. This solution not only dramatically reduce the processing time by more than 40%, it also saves 70%, 67% and 80% of water, power and steam respectively to substantially reduce the entire’ plant’s CO2 emission.

With regards to the maintenance of social welfare
Sharing the fruits of our success and enriching the meaning of life” is Everlight Chemical’s interpretation of what a happy enterprise ought to endeavor. We hope that each and every employee can celebrate this sense of security, belonging and honor that we strive to create. On top of that, the Company has also established relevant human rights policy that are compliant with pertinent international guidelines and standards in 2019. We have also continued to take part in the cause of welfare and charity and apart from sponsoring various community education programs, the Company has also helped schools in the purchase of software/hardware facilities, contributed towards industrial developments and taken part in charity events. We have also held voluntary coastal clean-up activities to protect the environment and ecology of the coastal ecology at Guanyin. Furthermore, our 2nd plant not only continued to help Shulin Village to boost its disaster prevention capabilities but also took part in the “Peach Blossom Spring & Water” initiative by Taoyuan Department of Environmental Protection to adopt the section of Dajue River as the Company’s way of doing its part to protect the beautiful planet of Earth.

With regards to the implementation of corporate governance
In terms of information transparency, the Company began publishing its annual report and full contents of Handbook for General Shareholder’s Meeting in English starting from 2019. In addition, we also completed updating our official website so that it is now available in both Chinese and English. This will enable our shareholders and stakeholders to have easier access to relevant company information. In this report, we have included a special section to disclose our efforts and results in the area of “chemical safety management. In addition to pledging that we will never use raw materials from conflict resources, we will also be working towards the goal of “100% compliance rate with relevant international standards and requirements for all products”.

Everlight Chemical has been actively working towards compliance to the Sustainable Development Goals(SDGs) as outlined by the United Nations and adopted relevant goals as the guideline that determines our priority in continual improvement for environmental issues. Not only that, we have also referred to the TCFD(Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures) Recommendations Report published by the Financial Stability Board (FSB) as the underlying framework for the Company in its assessment of the potential risks and opportunities that climate changes may have on Everlight Chemical so that we can formulate corresponding countermeasures.

Covid-19 became a full-blown pandemic at the beginning of 2020 and it has already caused drastic impacts and repercussions across the globe. Before the Company resumes operation from the Chinese New Year holidays, we had already held two disease-prevention and response meetings and have continued to closely monitor the latest developments for the disease and relevant political and economic situations so that we can respond accordingly. Although the macro environment leaves little room for optimism, we are confident that we will make it through this storm unscathed and keep all potential impacts at minimum.

I hereby offer my sincerest wishes to you all –
Best of health and Godspeed!

經營者的話

2019 年是世界局勢顛簸的一年。中美貿易戰及各地區示威活動此起彼落,造成全球經濟持續低迷。永光化學在此變動的局勢中,業績也受到影響,獲利目標未如預期。但仍感謝上帝保守,讓我們在不安的大環境中仍能站穩腳步,繼續深化永光化學的核心能力,為永續發展奠定良好基礎。

Everlight Chemical / Chairman

永光化學董事長─陳建信

這本報告書是本公司第三年依照 GRI 準則 (GRI Standard) 的核心選項來編制,也繼續委託英國標準協會 (BSI) 依據 AA1000(2008) 標準及其 2018 年附錄進行第三方查證。本次報告書的範圍,仍然只涵蓋永光化學在台北市的營運總部及桃園市的大園、觀音四個廠區。

ESG(Environment 永續環境、Social 社會公益、Governance 公司治理) 這個「字眼」在國內,大家已漸漸熟悉且看重。以下依照ESG 三個面向,摘要整理幾個重點,以利各位快速了解永光在永續性議題及國際趨勢上所做的努力。

發展永續環境方面
本公司在節水及節能減碳均有顯著的成效。在水資源管理方面,2019 年總取水量較 2018 年減少 12%;「水重複利用/ 省水量」達 417 百萬公升,節水成效為 39%。
在能源管理方面,2019 年能耗量較  2018 年減少 6%,共節電  1,486 千度( 減少碳排量約793 tCO2e);永光三廠於 2019 年啟用「蓄熱式焚化爐」(RTO),能將製程中產生的揮發性有機物(VOCs) 完全收集處理。永光持續開發綠色化學解決方案,例如:色料事業處在 2019 年推出節能減排的反應性染料套組 Everzol ERC Solutions,提供客戶環境友善的染整方案:不但縮短 40% 以上染程時間,更節水 70%、節電 67%、節省蒸氣 80%,能大幅降低染整廠的 CO2 排放量。

維護社會公益方面
永光化學以「共享經營成果,豐富生命意涵」來詮釋幸福企業,希望能讓每一位同仁都享有安全感、歸屬感與榮譽感。本公司也於2019 年制頒符合國際規範的「人權政策」。此外,我們持續參與社會公益,除了捐助社區教育活動,也資助學校軟硬體設施、產業發展及公益活動等;我們自主舉辦淨灘活動,以實際行動守護觀音海域環境。另外,永光二廠除了繼續幫助樹林里提升社區防災能力外,更配合桃園市環保局「水水桃花源」企業河川認養活動,認養大崛溪河段,為地球永續美麗家園盡一份心力。

落實公司治理方面
在資訊透明化上,2019 年我們開始提供英文版年報及完整的英文版股東會議事手冊,並在年底完成公司中英文網頁改版,讓股東及利害關係人更便利取得公司資訊。在本次報告書中,也特別揭露本公司在「化學品安全管理」所做的努力與成果。除了承諾 100% 不使用「衝突礦產原料」外,我們也將「產品達成各項國際規範要求符合率邁向 100%」作為努力的目標。

本公司積極接軌聯合國「全球永續發展目標」(Sustainable Development Goals,SDGs),據以決定應持續改善的環境議題之優先順序;同時也參考國際金融穩定委員會(Financial Stability Board)發布的「氣候相關財務揭露建議報告」(Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures, TCFD Recommendations Report),做為評估氣候變遷對永光化學潛在風險與機會的架構,並研擬相關之因應措施。

2020 年初爆發的「新冠肺炎」疫情,已造成全球巨大衝擊和影響。本公司在年假開工前就召開兩次防疫應變會議,至今仍持續關注疫情及政經情勢發展,採取適當的因應措施。雖然大環境不樂觀,但我們有信心一定能夠平安渡過這場風暴,並將各項衝擊影響減至最低。

敬祝大家
身體健康,萬事如意!